

2006 ELECTORAL DISTRICTS BOUNDARIES COMMISSION FOR NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

NOTICE OF PROPOSAL AND PUBLIC HEARINGS

TAKE NOTICE that in accordance with the provisions of the Electoral Boundaries Act, R.S.N.L. 1990 Chapter E-4 (the "Act"), the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission has developed the following proposal, which it is pleased to release to the public of Newfoundland and Labrador for discussion purposes and comment.

The Commission has been directed to divide the Province into 48 proposed one-member districts. The Act provides that the Commission divide the Labrador portion of the Province into four proposed districts and shall describe the boundaries of those districts in such a manner that the proposed new districts conform as closely as practicable to the present districts. With regard to the island portion of the Province, the Commission shall determine the boundaries by obtaining a quotient for each proposed district by dividing the total population of the Province (except that portion of the total population living within the area of the Province comprising Labrador) by the number 44.

Schedule "A" shows the suggested names and boundary descriptions for each of the proposed one-member districts and the population of each district, as per the 2001 census conducted by Statistics Canada.

In order to give all members of the general public an opportunity to have input into this process, the Commission will be holding hearings at the following locations:

COMMUNITY	DATE OF HEARING	LOCATION	TIME
Happy Valley-Goose Bay	Mon., September 18	Hotel North	1:00 p.m.
Flower's Cove	Tues., September 19	Town Hall	11:00 a.m.
Corner Brook	Wed., September 20	Glynmill Inn	10:00 a.m.
Port aux Basques	Wed., September 20	St. Christopher's Hotel	7:00 p.m.
Marystown	Tues., October 17	Hotel Marystown	1:00 p.m.
Clarenville	Wed., October 18	Clarenville Inn	10:00 a.m.
Grand Falls-Windsor	Thurs., October 19	Mount Peyton Hotel	10:00 a.m.
St. John's	Tues., October 24	Public Complaints Commission Bally Rou Place	10:00 a.m.
Bay Roberts	Wed., October 25	Avalon North Wolverines Search and Rescue Building	10:00 a.m.

Persons wishing to contact the Commission may do so by:

Telephone:	709-729-7730
Toll Free:	1-866-393-3181
Facsimile:	709-729-7735
Email:	edbc@nledbc.ca

or in writing to:

Newfoundland and Labrador Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission 90 O'Leary Avenue 2nd Floor, Suite 203 P.O. Box 8700 St. John's, NL A1B 4J6

Further information can be accessed at www.gov.nl.ca/ebc

Persons wishing to appear before the Commission should book a time at least three days in advance of the hearing at which the submission is to be given. Should no one book a hearing time in a given location, the Commission may cancel that meeting. However, as directed under the Act, the Commission must hold one hearing in Labrador and one on the island portion of the Province.

The Commission will, until October 31, 2006, be pleased to receive submissions in writing in the form of a signed letter, or a signed written brief, from any person concerning its proposal or any other related matter.

Following the completion of its public hearings and the receipt of any signed written submissions, the Commission will consider all those representations that have been made and thereafter will prepare its final report for presentation to the Minister of Justice.

Any and all enquiries concerning the above process may be directed to the Commission at the above noted address, telephone numbers, facsimile number, or email address.

Dated at St. John's, Newfoundland, this 10th day of August, 2006, by Order of the Electoral Districts Boundaries Commission for Newfoundland and Labrador.

Hon. John O'Neill, Chairperson Mr. Robert Aylward, Vice-Chairperson Ms. Julie Eveleigh, Commissioner Mr. Roger Grimes, Commissioner Mr. Cle Newhook, Commissioner